Uribe (2019) replication

Dear all,
I am totally new with Dynare and I am trying to replicate in Dynare the DSGE model of Uribe (2018) from this article: Uribe (2019), The Neo-Fisher Effect, Econometric Evidence from Empirical and Optimizing Model.pdf (326.7 KB). I reported the parameter values (p.33-34) as my starting values and I manage to complete my model block and my initval block. The problem is when I run the resid(1) command for the residuals of the static equations, one equation is not equal to zero. Maybe I have an error in my model block, but I can’t find it. I don’t know if it’s because of this but my results when i run the stoch_simul are far from Uribe (2019). Can you help me with this?

Uribe Matlab code : www.columbia.edu/~mu2166/neoFisher/index.htm
(particularly the nk_ss.m file and the nk_model.m file from optimizing.zip)

My .mod file: uribe2019_v030820.mod (2.9 KB)

Thanks

Hello everyone,

I still have the same problem, I search in this forum and in the Dynare manual but could not find an answer.
Can anyone could help me with this?

Best regards

To aid debugging, I would suggest to make use of Dynare’s \LaTeX-capabilties and tagging the equations to see what you implemented.

Hi,

First of all thank you for your answer. With the use of the Latex command and with a steady state file I managed to solve my first problem (all resid(1) = 0 now and the steady state looks good).

However, my results (IRFs and variance decomposition) are still differents from Uribe (p.37-38). I suspect errors in my shocks block since the direction of the IRFs is good but not the magnitude (see pictures) . I tried the relative_irf option without success. Do you have any idea what could be the problem?

new mod file: uribe_v110820.mod (3.2 KB)
steady_state file: uribe_v110820_steadystate.m (3.9 KB)

My IRFs:

Uribe:

You need to define auxiliary variables for:

1. log output (to consider percent deviations)
  2. the annualized interest rate instead of the quarterly one