"syntax error, unexpected NAME" when computing the steady state

Dear Professor Pfeifer,

I am new to dynare and am trying to replicate results from an article of Bilbiie, Ghironi and Melitz (2012) called “Endogenous Entry, Product Variety, and Business Cycles”. For this I have found another topic on this forum with a .mod file that was helpful, but gave different results than those found in the paper. I have also found a .mod file on Github that is supposed to give the right results but I cannot seem to make it work.

So, I am trying to learn from both of these files to create my own script. My goal is to modify the Github file I found by adding a steady_state_model block so that I don’t need another file to compute the simulations. So, I copied the value of the steady state I found in the matrix file and put them below the steady_state_model command, but it doesn’t work. I get an error message saying “ERROR: BGMYo.mod: line 154, col 51: syntax error, unexpected NAME”.

Where is this error coming from (I already tried to modify the values so that there is not the “+[…]i” after the value, but it still doesn’t work) ? Also, could anyone explain why the original script does not work for me please ? Do I have to update it for the last version of dynare ? Thanks in advance ! Also, sorry for the naive questions !

Here is my modified file : BGMYo.mod (5.3 KB)
Based on this script I found : BGM_2012.mod (4.7 KB)

• I would have put the link to the article in question but I am limited to two links only.

Why is your steady state complex? And did you see Replication codes for papers with equity premia!