Replication DSGE Model with Cryptocurrency

Hey everybody,

I want to replicate a DSGE model with cryptocurrency, but I stuck at the parameter decleration. When I try to run the code I receive the following error message “Symbol xi declared twice with different types”. Since I’m a beginner with such a replication I’m really pleased if someone could help me.

The model code is:

yhat = yhat(+1) - omega1*(rhat - pihat(+1)) + omega2*((mghat - eg) - (mghat(+1) - eg(+1))) + omega3*((chihat + mchat - ec)-(chihat(+1) + mchat(+1) - ec(+1))) + omega1*(a - a(+1));

mghat = gamma1yhat - gamma2rhat + gamma3eg - gammy4chihat - gammy4mchat + gamma4ec;

mchat = gamma5yhat - gamma6rhat + gamma7ec - gammy8chihat - gammy8mghat + gamma8eg;

pihat = (pi_ss/r_ss)pihat(+1) + psi((1/omega1)yhat - (omega2/omega1)(mghat-eg) - (omega3/omega1)*(chihat + mchat - ec) - z);

chihat = -varroh*phihat

phihat = (xi_ss/phi_ss)*xi + (1-(xi_ss/phi_ss)*nu

rhat = rhor*rhat(-1) + (1-rhor)rhoyyhat + (1-rhor)rhopipihat + (1-rhor)rhomugmughat + eps_r;

a = rhoa*a(-1) + eps_a;

eg = rhoeg*eg(-1) + eps_eg;

ec = rhoec*ec(-1) + eps_ec;

xi = rhoxi*xi(-1) + eps_xi;

nu = rhonu*nu(-1) + eps_nu;

z = rhoz*z(-1) + eps_z;

Model Equations and Parameters.pdf (303.0 KB)

ALR_rep_2.mod (11.3 KB)

Best regards,
Renate

You have twice

xi     ${xi}$          (long_name='AR(1) common supply shock (productivity of entrepreneur via the common component)')

in line 25 and 40. Moreover, in line 70

xi/phi    ${\xi/phi}$    (log_name='Share of Crypto. Common Prod. on Crypto. Tot. Prod.')

this is not a valid parameter name. Use e.g. xi_phi.

Hello Mr. Pfeifer,

thank you for your response. I changed the name of the parameter and so fare the Dynare code should be ready to run the replication. When I try to run the run code I receive the following error message:

Error using dynare (line 282)
Dynare: preprocessing failed

ALR_rep.mod (11.3 KB)