Colinear equations & variables

Hello,

Full disclosure: I am just getting started with dynare and there are not too many tutorials for beginners out there so please bear with me.

I started writing very simple models myself on top of tweaking models already written by prof. Pfeifer and publicly available on his github. For instance, I tried to use bayesian techniques to estimate some of the parameters of the NK model (chapter 5 & 8).

whereas it worked just fine estimating phi_pi & phi_y “bayesianally” in the simple rules vs committment implementation of prof. Pfeifer, the more advanced open economy NK model runs into Blanchard & Khan indeterminancy (colinear variables & equations).

Colinear variables:
w
p_h
p
er
Relation 2
Colinear variables:
w
p_h
p
er
Relation 1
Colinear equations
2 4 9 12 13 14 24 25 26 29
Relation 2
Colinear equations
2 4 9 12 13 14 24 25 26 29

I just assume that the issue with w and p comes from the fact that they only appear once in the model as “w-p” and dynare cannot compute FOC. Regarding p_h and er I can’t really tell…

Some tips on how to start with dynare and how to ‘debug’ issues like these would be very helpful…

Thank you

Ok…all I had to do was input ‘difuse_filter’ and B&K conditions were met…

Hello again,

I’ve encountered the following issues by running prof. Pfeifer’s implementation of Gali chapter 8. I did not change any lines describing the model or added/remove any parameters, besides adding an ‘estimated_params’ block and an ‘estimation’ line as to estimate the coefficients in a bayesian manner.

I. Bayesian estimation of model parameters (reading from an XLS file)

As soon as I take more than 3 variable as observable (i.e. also there are 3 shocks implemented: technology, monetary and preference), the following error pops up:

• mode_compute = 6
    initial_estimation_checks:: Estimation can’t take place because there are less declared shocks than
    observed variables!

• mode_compute = 1,2,3,4,5,7…