Why does dynare compute my model infinitely?

Hello everybody, sorry to bother you with the basics. I am trying to compute a very simple RBC model. There are no errors reported and everything would be fine apart from the fact that… dynare actually does not compute it (the model is really simple, see below, but after a few minutes dynare still stands at “starting matlab/octave computing”). Being a newbie I have no idea what might be wrong, as no errors are reported. Could you possibly help? Thanks a lot!

[code]var c, l, k, x, a;
varexo e;

parameters alpha, rho, delta;

alpha = 0.34;
delta = 0.025;
rho = 0.95;

model;
1/c = (1/c(+1))(aalpha*(l(+1)/k(+1))^(1-alpha)+1);
c/l-1 = (1-alpha)(k/l)^alpha;
c + x = a
(k^alpha)*(l^(1-alpha));
k = x(-1) + (1-delta)*k(-1);
a = rho * a(-1) + e;
end;

initval;
c = 0;
x = 0;
l = 0;
k = 0;
a = 0;
end;

shocks;
var e = 0.00448;
end;

stoch_simul(periods=1000);[/code]

Hi,

from what I can see, there are a few potential problems. Putting the command

after the initval block shows you that your supplied initial values do not lead to a feasible point around of the model. Rather, when starting with c=0 you immediately divide by 0 in the first model equation. Moreover, the timing for capital seems to be wrong/inconsistent. Note that Dynare uses end of period stock notation. That means, k at time t is entered as k(-1) (see User’s Guide 3.5.4). So the law of motion in the fourth model equation would be correct. Without knowing your model, I would guess that the part of the first model equation

relates to the real interest rate. But by the timing convention, this is l at time t+1 but k at time t (as k is predetermined).

Johannes