Which is the correct derivation for HH value of employment in search and matching

Hi. I’m studying DSGE models with labor search frictions. In general, taking only the labor issue, particularly the optimal unemployment (U_t) choice the problem of the household is to solve:

\max_{\{\cdot, U_t\}}E_0\sum_{t=0}^{\infty}\beta^{t}u(\cdot, U_t)

s.t.

n_{t}=(1-s)n_{t-1}+q_{t}U_{t}

Where n_t is labor. And more importantly, q_{t}\equiv m(U_t,V_t)/U_t, is the probability of an unemployed worker of finding a job, where m(U_t,V_t) is a constant returns to scale aggregate matching function (V_t are vacancies posted).

Most of the times it’s stated explicitly in words (Gertler, Sala and Trigari (2009)) or one may implicitly assume it by checking FOCs presented (Galí (2010)) that q_t is given for the representative household, and similarly p_t\equiv m(V_t,U_t)/V_t is given for the firm. (say m(V_t,U_t)= U_t^{\gamma}V_t^{1-\gamma})

The mathematical consequences of that subtlety (or not), are that for example if one is going to take the FOC of the problem stated above with respect to U_t yield:

u_{U}-\lambda_t^Uq_{t}+g(\cdot)=0

Where \lambda_t^U is a Lagrange multiplier associated with the problem, and g(\cdot) is just representing other terms that may entry in the FOC.

Note that indeed algebraically q_{t}U_{t}=m(V_t, U_t). For the literature I’ve reviewed I thought that it’s always assumed that agents take as given those ratios, and that’s the reason for the matching function m not appearing directly in the labor law of motion equation. Yet recently I checked Thomas (2008), and even though the author also defines q_t and p_t, when setting the problem he uses (simplified):

n_{t}=(1-s)n_{t-1}+m(V_t, U_t)

In which case the FOC would change to:

u_{U}-\lambda_t^U \gamma U_t^{\gamma-1}V_t^{1-\gamma}+g(\cdot)=0
\equiv u_{U}-\lambda_t^U \gamma q_t+g(\cdot)=0

Which is correct and why? Is it really relevant the difference?