Using deep parameters in steady_state_model; section

Hi all!

I’m rather new to Dynare and have a tricky problem which hopefully has an easy solution. I tried searching, but using # in searches is kind of awkward and couldn’t find a good answer.

Sorry, but this is going to be confusing. Please bear with me and ask questions about where you’re confused. I know I’m not going to be able to explain everything in one go, but I’ll try.

Key information:
[ul]]My model is expressed in terms of log-linearized variables. In other words, all of my variables are expressed using the xSSexp(x) convention meaning that while I’m calling xSS the “steady state” value of x, in the steady_state_model; section I have x=0 because the log deviation from steady state (xSS) is zero in the long run. This works because I’m using a first order approximation of my model./*]
]The model I’m working with has a full analytic solution for the steady state (already determined)/]
]The values of many “steady states” depend on estimated parameters/]
]I have a few observed variables with raw data which relate to variables in the equation with measurement noise/]
[list]For example: DIFFREALGDP_observed = DIFFREALGDP + eDIFFREALDGP + DIFFREALGDPSS where eDIFFREALGDP is a shock with a calibrated variance (the measurement error) and DIFFREALGDPSS is the “steady state” value of DIFFREALGDP[/ul]
]The “steady states” are defined in the model block using # - (for example #RSS = INFCSS/beta;). I’ve been convinced that this is a good idea because some steady state values depend on estimated parameters./]
[/list:u]

The question: