Unexpected permanent shock in deterministic model

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to Dynare, so although my model seems quite simple I cannot get it to work.

The model is quite simple.

I have a system of equations as follows.

X_{t+1} = A X_t + B

where X_{t+1}, X_t, B are all 6 by 1 vectors and A is a 6 by 6 square matrix.

There is no uncertainty so it is a deterministic model with perfect foresight.

I assume that the economy is at the steady state prior to period T, but at period T there is an unexpected change in the vector B. (B changes to B’) So this can be viewed as an unexpected permanent shock.

There are 2 predetermined variables in X_t, and matrix A has 4 eigenvalues that are larger than 1 in modulus, so the conditions for a unique nonexplosive solution are satisfied.

Is there a way to program this model and permanent shock to see what will happen to the variables after the shock is implemented?

Lastly, would it matter much if matrix A is singular? I can make the model so that A becomes non-singular, but I would prefer not to do so unless it is required.

Thank you in advance…

Best regards,

That should be a straightforward perfect foresight simulation exercise.

Thank you for the quick reply. As you have suggested, I’ve tried the perfect foresight simulation using methods from your Github, <Solow_growth_rate_changes.mod>, but I am running into errors that I cannot understand.

I have attached the file that I created.

The permanent shock is to the parameter tau and taustar.
I implemented the permanent shock by creating exogenous variables tau_shock and taustar_shock that are added to tau and taustar in the model.
Their initial and end values are defined to implement the shock.
I also defined the initial values of the two predetermined variables (b and s_star).

However, I run into the following error messages.

Error using print_info (line 32)
The steady state has NaNs or Inf.

Error in steady (line 102)