Uncertainty shock implementations

I am new to uncertainty in Dynare and would appreciate any contribution to improve my understanding. I am trying to simulate crude oil price uncertainty shocks and got the following spec:

log(POstar)=(1-rhoPOstar)*log(POstarss)+rhoPOstar*log(POstar(-1))+sigOstar*epsPOstar;

log(sigOstar)=(1-rhosOstar)*log(sigOstarss)+rhosOstar*log(sigOstar(-1))+epssOstar;

var epsPOstar; stderr 0.01;
var  epssOstar; stderr 0.1;

Simul order 3

1. I see authors (including the seminal Basu_Bundick_2017) using a scale parameter and set stderr to 1. What’s wrong if I proceed as above. I can increase the value as much as I want and see the results. I guess dynare 5 made that possible?
  2. The IRFs show the shocks to both crude oil price (epsPOstar) and uncertainty (epssOstar). To simulate a shock in absence of uncertainty I drop the related variables and parameters from the eq. is there any better way to do it?
  3. How can I proceed to simulate only crude oil price uncertainty (i.e turning epsPOstar off)? Thanks.

any clue @punnoosejacob @jpfeifer ?

1. I am not sure I understand the question. For sigOstar*epsPOstar, sigOstarss only gives you the standard deviation if epsPOstar has standard deviation 1. As a sidenote, see point 1 of
  1. To shut off uncertainty, you can simply set its standard deviation to 0.
  2. What do you mean with “turning epsPOstar off”? You usually just want to keep it to 0 on average in GIRFs as in DSGE_mod/Basu_Bundick_2017/Basu_Bundick_2017.mod at master · JohannesPfeifer/DSGE_mod · GitHub

Your code is too complex to quickly check. Did you try whether it’s a matter of parameterization?

The counter intuitive IRFs show up when I use your code.
as you can see in the attached, I used the exact same two files as above, but did the follwing two minor changes
1-
var epsPOstar; stderr 0.1;
var epssOstar; stderr 0.1;

epssOstar is the uncertainty

2- I dropped all your code and kept only stock simul.