Two country open economy (Corsetti & Pesenti, 2001)

Dear all,

I am new to matlab and dynare, so I wish you can be patient with this.

I am dealing with the two country model by Corsetti and Pesenti (2001), and am trying to simulate the model using dynare. The original paper provides an analytical solution, so I could compare dynare steady state values to the ones of the analytical solution.
The model in brief: two country large open economy with monopolistic supply of labor that induce one period nominal rigidities, as labor set wages one period ahead and cannot adjust immediately to, e.g., monetary shock. Bonds and wages should be predetermined variables and I think I have adjusted the timing to match dynare requirements (following the User Guide).
I try a simple extension of the model. I want to study the effect of international demand for home currency, induced by foreign household demand of home currency demand. I am interested in the shor- and long-run effects.

I will try to summarize the problem in few points:

1. The rank condition is not verified, so I were only able to use “simul” but not “stoch_simul”
  2. Regarding the original model, the steady states values (of initval and endval) are correct, however, the simulation didn’t capture the short-run since the solver assumes perfect foresight and the workers anticipated the shock and adjusted accordingly.
  3. Regarding the extended model, dynare is giving weird steady state values after home monetary shock, with consumption close to zero, although money should be neutral.

I can’t see where I did wrong.

I attached the MOD files of the original and the extended models, along with the pdf of model setup and equilibrium conditions.

I hope you can help me, and thank you all for your patience.

Kind regards,
Wessam
model.pdf (490 KB)
modelextended.MOD (3.19 KB)
modeloriginal.MOD (3.05 KB)

Hi,