Trouble running Dynare files downloaded from AEA:macro site

Hello. I am new to Dynare, and my macro skills are still a work in progress.

I downloaded the replication data and Dynare files for:

Jin and Li (2018), “International transmission with heterogeneous sectors”.

When I try run the files on Dynare, following readme-file-instructions accompanying the materials, I get errors I do not understand.

Could the actual files, downloaded from the AEA-OPENICPSR site be problematic? Or am I doing something wrong when attempting to run the files?

Could someone help with this?

Thank you.

What are the error messages?

Thank you for your reply.

There are 7 errors when I run the general_bond_labor_estimation.mod file:

• 1 error in “general_bond_labor_estimation_steadystate” - “Too many arguments”;
  • 2 errors in “evaluate_steady_state_file”;
  • 2 errors in “steady”;
  • 1 error in “general_bond_labor_estimation.driver”; and
  • 1 error in “dynare”.

I tried attaching a screen shot but the upload-processing was slow; I shall re-try following this post.

Thanks again.

I have now tried to upload a screenshot a few times, but the upload-processing seems to be stuck in an infinite loop.

The

suggests you are not using the correct Dynare version. You most probably need to stick to Dynare 4.5.7.

Thank you very much. I will try that now.

Hello professor Pfeifer,

Today, I started by switching from Dynare 4.6.4 to 4.5.7.

There were then new errors to deal with. Below are the main points:

1. Error: “identifier delta in the evaluated statement does not refer to the external function”.

This made me notice that the mod files included parameters named delta, phi and theta, which, as I understand, could conflict with Matlab functions.

To fix this, I renamed them as deltan, phin, and thetan.

While doing this I noticed that phi was only listed but not used anywhere in the mod files.