TANK with Forward Guidance - collinear equations

Dear all,
I am a beginner of dynare and I am trying to write a TANK model with a forward guidance shock, attached you can find the code.
It finds a steady state but the values are a bit off, especially the bonds, B, which should be zero in net supply.
I ran model_diagnostics, and it says that equations 16 ,17,18,20 are collinear, and I really do not understand what I should do.
Could someone help me?
Thank you very much!
model1.mod (4.1 KB)

I think the first issue you should solve is to get rid off P, which is non-stationary and introduces a unit root in the model. Also, I am not sure that the Phillips Curve is written correctly. Are you replicating a specific model?

Valerio

Hi Valerio!
I am basing my model on Debortoli and Gali(2017), and to that I am adding the forward guidance shock according to McKay et al. So are you suggesting that I write it directly in pi terms instead that P like this
" pi=betapi(+1)+((1-betatheta)(1-theta)(1/(1+epsiloneta))(1/sigma+(1+eta)/phi+eta))*(Y)/Y_ss " ?
Because with this form, dynare cannot find the steady state.
Thank you very much!

Maria Ludovica Ambrosino

The price level in NK models is non-stationary, so you will have a unit root and the steady state cannot be computed endogenously. Expressing everything in terms of inflation rates is the way to go.

I had a look at your code, there are some equations missing, and some other equations that are redundant (one Euler equation implies the other one, one trasfer equation implies the other one). I would suggest you to reduce the number of equations and variables as much as possible. When the code works you can start to add other equations and variables. For instance, I would keep:

• Euler equation for ricardian (eq 9)
  • Wage schedule (eq 11)
  • Aggregate production (eq 16)
  • Labor demand (eq at the beginning of page 14)
  • Phillips curve (eq 12)
  • Market clearing (eq 15, use the definition of Delta)
  • Taylor rule