Steady State File Residuals

Hi everyone,

I’m relatively new to Dynare and any help/insight you can provide will be much appreciated. I’m working on a DSGE model with 30 equations and have an auxiliary steady state file. I’m confused on why my steady state file evaluates residuals for 6 of my 30 equations to non-zero values. When I evaluate these equations at Matlab’s command prompt, given my analytically computed steady state values, three of these six equations evaluate to zero. I don’t understand why I’m seeing this discrepancy.

Also, when I evaluate all my analytically computed steady state values at Matlab’s command prompt, I get a negative value for consumption.

Any suggestions/insights will be much appreciated.

Thank you!

Without the files tracking the error is almost impossible. Maybe you changed the order of your equations? If the steady state file computes say
B = 2
A = B+C
C = 5
you’d get A=2 which results in a residual not equal to 0. At least this happened to me a lot of times.

When your analytical steady state returns negative consumption, your computations must still be wrong.

Thank you both Fabian and jpfeifer for helping me. I double-checked the order of the equations that I am using in the steady state file by evaluating them at Matlab’s command prompt. I’m able to find values for all my variables. I found a mistake in my government expenditure equation and now, my consumption is positive. However, government expenditure is now negative. Is this as serious a problem as the negative consumption is? Does this mean that I have made a mistake when computing the steady states analytically? Or does it mean that some of my calibrated parameter values are off?

Thanks in advance for your help! :slight_smile: