Smets & Wouter 2007 - Steady State Ratios

Hi everyone,

This is my first time that I work with the SW model (and a steady state model block), so I apologize in advance for my stupid question.

I am working with Johannes’ SW code on github called - Smets_Wouters_2007_45.mod. Since my objective is to calibrate the model to a different economy, I would like to have a look at a few steady state ratios. In the codes there is a steady state model block and some of the ss-ratios have already been computed, e.g. consumption-investment ratio or consumption-output ratio. Do you know how I can extract these ratios to check whether they match a different economy based on the underlying calibration? Can I find them in the M_ or oo_ structure?

Many thanks for your help.

Robert

Hi Robert,

The steady-state ratios are functions of parameters and other variables at their steady-state values, which are constant.
The former are primitive, while the latter are themselves functions of parameters.
Therefore, if you were to lay-out a Matlab script, in the first place you could declare your calibration, then derive in order the steady-state variables, and finally define ratios among them; you would then be able to read these ratios off your workspace.

Say you are interested in the investment-capital ratio, the following would be sufficient, and you would find cik in your workspace (you can of course create a loop if you want to look at several values :slightly_smiling_face:)

ctou=.025;
constepinf=0.7;
constebeta=0.7420;
ctrend=0.3982;

cpie=1+constepinf/100;         %gross inflation rate
cgamma=1+ctrend/100 ;          %gross growth rate
cbeta=1/(1+constebeta/100);    %discount factor

cik=(1-(1-ctou)/cgamma)*cgamma;    %i_k: investment-capital ratio

This steady-state analysis is of course external to the model, and you could find it interesting per se.