Simulate Estimation Of A Simple 3-eq Model

Hi all,

I am new to Dynare, still having a hard time reading manual and other people’s codes. Forgive me if the question is super basic.

My goal: I am thinking about writing a Dynare file to both simulate and then estimate the same simple DSGE model, see if the parameter values vary at all (consistent with the identification results).
I have a specific setup attached here, and some calibrated values to the parameters. I would love to generate the observables with this set of parameters and then estimate the model as if I don’t know the parameters.

My question: 1. I don’t know what command to use to generate y_t, pi_t, and i_t and then save it in a data file. I guess stoch_simul will do the simulation, but can I save the result and use it in the same mod file?
2. I wrote the estimation part with some data file I found online just as an exercise. However, the results are weird even if identification test passed.
POSTERIOR KERNEL OPTIMIZATION PROBLEM!

• (minus) the hessian matrix at the “mode” is not positive definite!*
    => posterior variance of the estimated parameters are not positive.
    You should try to change the initial values of the parameters using
    the estimated_params_init block, or use another optimization routine.
  1. Another thing I’m really curious about is even when people claim they are doing estimation, they have this calibration block. Why do we need that if the parameter priors are already set by the estimated_params block?

Data1.m (7.3 KB)
three_eq_nk.mod (1020 Bytes)

Thank you!

Check the manual. Simulated variables are already saved.

Because you need to solve the model…thus making sure BK conditions are satisfied before estimating the parameters. If BK conditions are not satisfied, the estimation will not work either.