RBC model with distortionary taxes

Hello, I’m a graduate student working with DSGE models and dynare for the first time, and I’m having a bit of trouble getting my model to run.

It’s a standard RBC model which incorporates a government which raises lump sum and distortionary taxes and spends on a consumption good. I’ve combed through everything a hundred times over, and I’m fairly confident my model is specified correctly, just when it comes to putting it into dynare and log-linearizing it, I’m not sure if there may be something off in my syntax. Previously in the class, we used the loglinear option of stoch_simul, but now there’s a (potentially non-positive) bond, so I’m almost positive my issues are coming from where I’m log-linearizing.

More specifically, I’m getting residuals in the 11th and 15th equations, but I’ve tried every adjustment I think I might need to make and have gotten nowhere. If someone could take a quick look and just give some feedback on how to improve, I would greatly appreciate it. My files are attached.RBC_MainPS5.m (1.3 KB) RBC_ModelPS5.mod (3.5 KB)

This is the helper function I created to numerically solve for the steady state n. This forum would only allow 2 links attached so I’m plugging it in the replies.

rbc_steadystate_helper.m (284 Bytes)

Only do the exp()-substitution once the model works. You may want to go for auxiliary variables, see option 3 in
Question about understanding irfs in dynare

Also, are you sure your model is well-defined. It seems you are setting target levels for lump sum taxes and the bonds. Usually, lump-sum taxes balance the budget.

I was under the impression that my model didn’t work BECAUSE I didn’t exp()-substitute the variables.

When writing the model in the levels and using the “loglinear” option, the model didn’t meet all the Blanchard-Kahn conditions, so I thought that transforming the variables was the solution to this.