Random walk with a drift process

Dear all,

Hi, I am a phd student and trying to simulate a Lucas (1978) endowment economy using the Dynare.
My issue is I don’t know how to make Dynare handle the random walk with a drift process for log consumption properly.
I am considering the two solutions as below, but nothing works.

By the way, I also looked into Professor Pfeifer’s replication of Jermann (1998). However, Jermann (1998) is based on a production economy and there is no issue regarding random walk process as I have in endowment economy.

Could you give me any advice?

Best,

1. attached ‘lucas1.txt’
    : Use steady(nocheck) and impose a steady-state value for consumption.
    The problem is resulting values are far off from the ones from the closed-form.
    For example, the equity premium is 674.85%, which should be around 3.6%.

2. attached ‘lucas2.txt’
    : Use AR(1), put rho=0.999, set qz_zero_threshold = 1e-999
    The problem is it generates an error message.

lucas1.txt (731 Bytes) lucas2.txt (766 Bytes)

Where did you get the analytical values from? Are you sure your parameterization is correct? Currently, you shock process has a standard deviation of 11 percent. That is huge. At second order 0.11 is not 0.1 percent.

In the discrete time, there is no analytical solution. But, approximately, the maximum Sharpe ratio is risk aversion * the standard deviation of dividend growth. Also, the equity premium is risk aversion * the standard deviation of dividend growth^2. I think the the second moment of dividend growth of 11 percent is reasonable. For example, in Bansal and Yaron (2004, JF), they estimate 11.49 percent for the second moment of dividend growth.

What is the difference between your model and Burnside (1998)?

Dear Professor Pfeifer,
Thank you for your reply.

In Burnside (1998), the endowment process is more general than the one I am studying.
The endowment process of this paper is

x_t = (1-rho) * mu + rho * x_{t-1}+epsilon_t