Questions in the replication of Fernandez-Villaverde (2006)

Dear all,

I am new in Dynare and currently trying to replicate Fernandez-Villaverde (2006): “A Baseline DSGE Model”. I got some problems when running Dynare. The mod file and the associated steady state file are attached.

I have the following questions:

1. The error message I got is:
    Attempt to reference field of non-structure array.

Error in make_ex_ (line 34)
if isempty(oo_.exo_steady_state)

Error in CN_P1_std (line 409)
make_ex_;

Error in dynare (line 180)
evalin(‘base’,fname) ;

I know this model has an example in the fold for unstable version of Dynare and it is named NK_baseline.mod. But since I am using the log-linearized model, while in the example file the model is nonlinear, I modify the steady state file slightly. I am not sure if the above error is due to the steady state file.

1. I have a question on the steady state file. Since the model is log-linear, the endogenous variables declared in the mod file have zero steady state values except for the observable variables showing up in the measurement equation sfor estimation. Do I need to take care of these variables in the steady state file? In the current steady state file, I just put the equations to solve for the endogenous variables appearing in the original nonlinear model, which are parameters in the model block. By the way, I have declared these variables as parameters in the mod file.

2. In the mod file, I define “# betta = 1/(beta_new/100+1);” in the model block. Is this betta updated for every draw in the estimation? Do I need to declare betta in the parameters block as well? Previously, instead of defining betta in the model block with a # sign, I put “betta = 1/(beta_new/100+1);” after declaring the parameters but before the model block. I am not sure which way is correct!

I hope anyone who knows the answers could give me some hints! I greatly appreciate it!

Best,

Bing
myexample.mod (12.6 KB)