Problems with Maximum Likelihood

I’ve been having trouble estimating a model with maximum likelihood. I’ve successfully simulated the model with plausible parameter values, and I’ve done Bayesian estimation and gotten plausible results. But when I try to do maximum likelihood, I inevitably get some kind of error, usually “POSTERIOR KERNEL OPTIMIZATION PROBLEM!
(minus) the hessian matrix at the “mode” is not positive definite!
=> posterior variance of the estimated parameters are not positive.”

I’ve tried changing initial values, different values for mode_compute, I’ve tried varying the parameters I estimate vs. set (calibrate). As I am a relative Dynare newbie, I’m hoping there is some simple answer. I’m attaching the .mod file and data in .xls. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
autodata_ur.xls (27.5 KB)
invmod6ml_ur_est.mod (1.7 KB)

Maximum likelihood estimation is very difficult if some of your parameters are poorly identified. One thing that you can do is to widen the priors used in the Bayesian estimation and see how far you can go that way. Checking how the posterior is moving in the process is instructive about the role of the priors.

Best

Michel

Thanks for the reply. I’ve tried that to some extent. With Bayesian estimation all the parameters I’ve estimated have posteriors considerably tighter than the priors, so I’m pretty sure they’re identified (or is that not conclusive?). I did try to use uniform priors over fairly wide ranges as a proxy for ML and had similar problems. I have tried fixing some of the parameters and estimating only a subset. I can continue to try to do that.