Policy Frontiers over time

Dear all,

I am new to DSGE models and I am sorry if my question is trivial or already answered before, but I haven’t found an answer.

I would like to examine the performance of different Taylor rule specifications in different time periods via OSR and Policy frontiers. I have 24 recursive estimations of my model.

My questions are:

1. As far as I know, the OSR is affected only by estimated shocks, not by the parameters, is that really true?
  2. Does it make sense to loop over the recursive estimations and set the shock parameters accordingly for each Policy frontier?
  3. I tried running set_param_value, but that does not work for shock (or any exogenous variables probably?). How would I achieve that?

Thank you very much in advance!

BR

Hi,

1. The OSR depends on all the parameters in the model. Some may have no effect on the design of the optimal policy, but you cannot exclude parameters a priori.

2. Why not.

3. You can rewrite your model imposing that the variance of each innovation is equal to one and multilply each innovation with a parameter to set the standard deviation. Then you should be able to use set_param_values as usual. Otherwise, you can change manually the values on the diagonal of M_.Sigma_e (the innovation variances are ordered as in varexo). I can show you if you post the files.

Best,
Stéphane.

Thank you very much for the prompt response!

Here is a simplified version of what I am working with:
Policy_Frontiers.rar (31.3 KB)

This code works without setting the shocks with set_param_values, but returns identical results for each recursion. Setting the estimated shock values results in the following error:

Index exceeds the number of array elements (1).

Error in run (line 56)
        set_param_value('etaa', p_etaa(i));