Plotting and naming IRF's

Hello everyone.

I’m new to Dynare and I’ve started programming only recently. For practice, I tried to run a version of a simple Keynesian model
with a NK Phillips curve. First of all, I would be grateful if someone could look at my code and spot any mistakes. My main concerns
however are:

1. I’ve seen in other codes that for the steady state values, people usually choose values of zeros for their variables. Is that for simplicity
    and for the sake of the example? If for instance, I was to set steady state values for a ZLB situation, how would I change those?

2. The basic command for irf plotting is “stoch_simul” but this gives me the output with the names I’ve already set, which are the abreviations
    of the normal variables in question. I know that I can change those through the figure window but is there a more “elegant” way to set the names
    of my variables, the x and y axis names etc? The only thing I’ve found so far but it doesn’t work is:

figure(1); subplot(2,2,1); plot(jj,xgap_t_ eps_i,’-’); title(’ouput gap’); xlabel(’Quarters’); ylabel(’%-deviation’);

I am providing my code for anyone to have a look. Any help would be really appreciated. Thank you in advance.
New_Keynesian_Example.mod (2.76 KB)

1. People of loglinearize their models and express variables in deviations from steady state. Those deviations have always steady state 0. Essentially, you subtract the steady state on both sides of the equations.
    For the zero lower bound, you would not demean the net interest rate. It would have steady state log(1/cbeta). The mod-file then is

[code]// Simple New Keynesian Model

/* Enbdogenous Variables
pi_t: inflation
xgap_t: output gap
int_t: nominal interest rate
e_t: autoregressive process linked with interest rate
u_t: autoregressive process linked with the output gap
*/

var pi_t xgap_t int_t e_t u_t;

/* Exogenous Variables
eps_i: normally distributed error of the e_t autoregressive process