Passed stoch_simul(), but error in MLE

Hi all,

I’m new to Dynare. I’m trying to solve a new Keynesian Phillips curve system in FRB/US. I followed Pfeifer (2013) Remark 2, and ran steady; check; stoch_simul(); first. The output didn’t give me any errors or warnings. But when I ran the estimation step, it said " Blanchard & Kahn conditions are not satisfied: no stable equilibrium."
I’ve gone over the equations several times. I’m (almost) 100% sure that the equations are right (unless there are typos in their documentation).

The attachments are my code, log, and data.
nkpc_new.log (15.8 KB)
nkpc_new.mod (3.6 KB)
load_nkpc_data.m (207 Bytes)
data.mat (6.7 KB)

Could someone help? Thank you in advance for your time.

If your model has a unit root, you need to set diffuse_filter in estimation.

Thank you, professor.

Dear Professor,

As I added diffuse_filter in estimation, the estimation gave me no std errors and the following warnings:

POSTERIOR KERNEL OPTIMIZATION PROBLEM!
(minus) the hessian matrix at the “mode” is not positive definite!
=> posterior variance of the estimated parameters are not positive.
You should try to change the initial values of the parameters using
the estimated_params_init block, or use another optimization routine.
Warning: The results below are most likely wrong!

In dynare_estimation_1 (line 324)
In dynare_estimation (line 105)
In nkpc_new.driver (line 575)
In dynare (line 293)
Warning: Matrix is singular, close to singular or badly scaled. Results may be inaccurate. RCOND = NaN.
In dynare_estimation_1 (line 347)
In dynare_estimation (line 105)
In nkpc_new.driver (line 575)
In dynare (line 293)

Even after I added an empty estimated_param_init block with use_calibration option, I still got the warning.

Does that mean there is some problem with the model?

Thank you so much for your time.

Xizi
nkpc_new.log (57.5 KB)
nkpc_new.mod (3.6 KB)