On Steady States in Ramsey Optimal problems

Hello everyone,

I’m a beginner in Dynare. I’ve browsed many posts regarding steady states in Ramsy optimal problems. My general questions are

1. Is it feasible to find connections between every variables at their SS with the instrument, say, R?
    You usually call “SS condional on the instrument”.

2. I notice that many users are experienced in stoch_simul and in writing steady_state_model block or a separate file, but they still report error in Ramsey. So except the above Question 1, what else do I need to pay attention to, when solving the conditional SS?

3. In traditional SS solving session, people often directly set the SS real exchange rate rer to be 1, and set inflation pi as 1 too. Or they normalize some price level, e.g. p_H = 1. Do these strategies still work in Ramsey? Since sometimes I wonder that if the previous Question 1 has a negated answer, then we have to resort to assigning more values on other steady states, but in this way, these SS are now no longer “conditional on the instrument”, just deterministic.

1 Like
  1. No. Generally, there are variables whose steady state does depend on the instrument and there are others that do not depend on the instrument.
  2. People struggle, because they do not understand the difference between a regular steady state and a steady state conditional on an instrument. The biggest challenge here is to take the value as the instrument as given and pass it through the file.
  3. That very much depends on the setup. If it’s just a normalization, then you should be fine. But if the values you usually normalize depend on the value of the instrument, then this is not ok.
2 Likes

Very interesting questions!!

• If some variables do not depend on this instrumet, say R_t, then do they create a scope for another instrument, e.g. \tau_t? (assuming \tau_t can not be expressed as a function of R_t) I think the answer is probably yes.