Numerically finding the steady state of a DSGE model

Hello everyone,

I’m trying to run the attached model as I’m new to Dynare. Any assistance in showing me how to execute the Matlab files relating to the steady state and the Dynare files would be greatly appreciated.

ReplicationFiles.zip (6.7 KB)

Thank you.

What exactly is the question? Running

dynare model

works as expected.

1 Like

I really appreciate your response.
Neither Matlab nor Dynare are familiar to me. How to execute the model is my issue.
Although I am aware that in Dynare I must first add the path before running the model, the Matlab files make things more difficult. I attempted first to run the Matlab file, but I received error messages.
All I need is that you please explain how to run the model, keeping in mind that I don’t know how to use Matlab or Dynare.

I sincerely appreciate your kind assistance.

You are not supposed to run the Matlab files. They will be called when you execute Dynare with the command above.

1 Like

I discovered that I also needed to install the Optimization Toolbox. Now it works.
Thank you so much for your great help.

I’m having a trouble in simulating shocks in this model. When I type, for example:

var errBeta;    
periods 1; 
values 0.00864; 

the shock is not imposed and there are no impulse response functions after running the model. However, if I type:

var errBeta =0.00864;

then the shock is imposed, and I can see the impulse response functions after running the model. As I understand, the first type of shock specification imposes the shock for only period 1, while the second specification imposes the shock for all periods.

I’m wondering why using the first type of shock specification does not produce IRFs.

Thank you so much for your time and help.

Below are the codes as they appear in Dynare:

shocks;

var errZ;    % TFP
periods 1; 
values  0;

var errBgcgNP; % QE
periods 1:10; 
values 0 ;

var errBgcgRI; % QE
periods 1; 
values 0 ;