Model validation of Bayesian estimation

Hi,

I am a PhD student and I estimated a DSGE model. As a part of model validation I have included moment comparison of actual and theoretical moments. But my supervisor is suggesting that this kind of validation is suitable only for calibrated models. But, in a recent training on DSGE we did a similar exercise for Bayesian estimated models. Can anyone help me with this. Am I doing something wrong? Is there any better method to validate Bayesian estimated models?

Thanks in advance.

This is a rather philosophical matter. Historically, models were calibrated to long-run growth facts and then cross-validated by looking at the implies short- to medium-run implications for the business cycle, which is in a sense a different dataset.

When estimating a model, the parameters are chosen by looking at the same dataset for which you try to match second moments. You could argue that this is not a rigid “out of sample” test.

People nevertheless do this, because when estimating, you try to minimize the forecast error. Thus, it is not guaranteed that selected second moments are well-matched. Looking whether the model matches them is is a sensible test (not meant to denote a statistical test).

What you could do, is perform a test of the overidentifying restriction, see e.g. ideas.repec.org/a/eee/dyncon/v31y2007i8p2599-2636.html. This test will be a lot stricter than the eyeball econometrics performed on second moments. See also delong.typepad.com/sdj/2011/10/calibration-and-econometric-non-practice.html

If you do Bayesian estimation you should not be testing at all. Rather, you do model comparison and only reject your current model if you found a better one (the idea being that a poor model is still better than no model at all)

Dear Jpfeifer,