Mode check plots and mode

I’m studying Bayesian estimation using simulated fake data, but I cannot understand the result below.

All of the parameters except for cALPHA1 are estimated properly, but true cALPHA1 is 0.1 and its graph has different properties.

I have two questions related to this graph.

1. What is happening when x_axis and y_axis are both very tight (for cALPHA1)?
    As far as I know, this is due to some necessary conditions like B-K in some cases, but it seems not to be the case in this case. (too tight, and for example, cALPHA1 = 0.1 can satisfy B-K.)

I also thought this is because other parameters are bounded by some conditions but this was not the case, since even though I estimate only one parameter, almost the same graph was obtained.

2)Why is the mode like the picture above?

In my understanding, modes sometimes cannot be on the top of log_post, but it’s due to a corner solution like the picture below.

However, in the picture2, there are no red dots and the tops of log_post and log-lik seem to be obviously right than the graph-showing mode line.

Thank you in advance!

2 Likes

Usually that happens if the parameter runs extremely close to its bounds. Did you set prior_trunc=0?

Thank you for your reply!

Usually that happens if the parameter runs extremely close to its bounds.

Is this "extremely close to its bound " implying that B-K or other necessary conditions seem to be violated around 0.088088? In my expectation, this parameter can be at least any value between 0 ~ 0.11… Or, does it imply completely other things?

Did you set prior_trunc=0 ?

I did not change from its default(1e-32). By changing it to 0, I managed to obtain fine result! However, why does the change solve the issue?