It appears"The steady state has NaNs or Inf"

Dear professer,
Untitled519.mod (3.9 KB)

When I run my dynare code, it appears that “The steady state contains NaN or Inf”.I don’t know where I am wrong and how to correct my code

I really need help. Thank you very much.

Best,
zhang

Hi, there is a problem in your steady-state.

You use K_{ss}^{g} in order to define to define Y_{ss}. However, you define K_{ss}^{g} after Y_{ss}, which causes NaN on Y_{ss} and on the rest of the steady-state variables dependant on Y_{ss} . You need to find another way to compute your analytical steady-state.

Thank you very much for your reply, I wonder why this problem occurs, the steady-state value is written according to the equilibrium conditions. As a beginner, I don’t know how to fix it, can you tell me how I should correct it,thank you again!

I would advise you to normalize Y_{ss} to 1, which would allow you to define I^{g}_{ss} by multiplying the ratio of public investment to GDP with Y_{ss} (1). This would then allow you to calculate K_{ss}^{g}. However, if you use this method, since you normalize Y_{ss} to 1, do not forget to adjust steady-state TFP A_{ss}.

sorry,I’m still wondering, can you go into more details?Idont know how to adjust steady-state TFP Ass

Like this:

A_{ss}=Y_{ss}/(K_{ss}^{\alpha}H_{ss}^{1-\alpha}(K^{g}_{ss})^{\alpha_{g}})

Untitled519.mod (3.9 KB)
I thought maybe I misunderstood what you meant, and I did it or wasn’t right. Please see if I have made a mistake,thank you

Another mistake arises because of the cobb-douglas production function. \alpha +(1-\alpha)+\alpha_g > 1. Also do not forget to modify A=0 in initval since TFP is not anymore equal to 1 in the steady-state. Moreover, you also forgot to assign K_{g} to its steady-state in initval, and you also need to adjust the steady-state rax rule by adding i^{g}_{ss} to it.

This code ran successfully, very very thank you for your help!!!