Issue with the Kalman filter

Hi all,

I am very new to Dynare, but I have studied the program to the point where I have written a very simple model. This model seems to function well (steady states and simulation work fine), but the estimation of the model persistently fails with the error message:
“The forecast error variance in the multivariate Kalman filter became singular.”

I have tried several things to round the issue, but with very little success.
All tips to solve as well as explanations why this error rises would be very very much appreciated!

Basic_model.mod (1.1 KB)
Model_estimation.mod (2.0 KB)
data.xlsx (11.6 KB)

The problem is known as “stochastic singularity”, which happens if a linearized model implies an exact linear combination between observables. That in turn means that the density of observing that variables is either 1 (the exact linear combination in the model holds in the data; rarely the case) or 0 (the exact linear combination does not hold; the typical case). As you can imagine with a log density of minus infinity, estimation will not work.

You have in your model

exp(y_tilde) = exp(k_tilde)^(alph);

But you observe k and y. That’s where the problem comes from. The model says that the ratio of y and k is a constant \alpha. Plotting the ratio shows that this is not the case in the data:

Hello professor Pfeifer and thank you very much for your prompt reply!

I do understand the issue now, but I still don’t know how to get around the problem. I have tried e.g.:

a) To use only one observable variable in the estimation (Dynare shouldn’t be able to decide if the data contains exact linear combination or not if there is only one observable)
→ In case a) I still get the error message and the estimation does not work.

b) Adding a measurement error to the observables to tell Dynare that the linear combination does not hold in the observed data when there are more than one observed variables