Install problem w 32-bit matlab 64-bit *nix OS

Hello all,

I am new to Matlab and Dynare but am fairly comfortable with other languages and numerical libraries. I have two problems installing Dynare. I am using the student version of matlab v. 7.8. The student version (unfortunately) only comes in 32-bit, and I am running 64-bit *ubuntu 9.10. I have successfully run the following

./configure --with-matlab=~/matlab MATLAB_VER=7.8
make

But when I run

make check

I receive the following error:

Starting MATLAB/Octave computing.

error: DYNARE: Can’t find bytecode DLL. Please compile it or remove the ‘bytecode’ option.
error: called from:
error: /home/skipper/downloads/dynare-4.1.0/tests/block_bytecode/fs2000_bytecode.m at line 80, column 3
error: /home/skipper/downloads/dynare-4.1.0/matlab/dynare.m at line 132, column 1
error: run_test_octave.m at line 39, column 1

make[2]: *** [check-octave] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory /home/skipper/downloads/dynare-4.1.0/tests' make[1]: *** [check-am] Error 2 make[1]: Leaving directory/home/skipper/downloads/dynare-4.1.0/tests’
make: *** [check-recursive] Error 1

I am on linux, so I wouldn’t have any DLLs. Is this a problem with my octave build or dynare? If dynare, what flag should I use to disable bytecode?

Figuring this error might not be such a big deal, I then sudo

make install

I receive the following error: