Impulse responses don't display when solving to second order

I am using 4.0.4, and I have a simple Dynare model that behaves as follows. When I do stoch_simul(order=1), everything works fine and I see four sets of impulse response graphs. However, when I do stoch_simul(order=2), Dynare appears to solve the model successfully, but no impulse response graphs appear. Has anyone run into this? Is it (possibly) a bug in 4.0.4? I am new to Dynare, so I may well be missing something.

More details: when I run Dynare on Villaverde’s rbc.mod (from the ‘examples’ section of the website), the impulse response graphs appear both for first order and second order. However, for my model, they appear at first order only. I believe Dynare has solved my model successfully to second order, because I see nonzero coefficients on cross-product terms in the policy and transition functions table. Dynare also displays theoretical moments, variance decomposition, matrix of correlations and coefficients of autocorrelation. Just no impulse response graphs at second order. I can provide my mod file if that would help.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Dave

Here’s an update. When I look at oo_.irfs (at second order), I see all NaNs. Also, when I turn the “simul” flag on, all the simulated moments are also NaN. I went a little deeper and stepped through stoch_simul (and dependent functions) in the debugger. I noticed that my simulated endogenous variables grew very quickly in magnitude with each iterated period. Sure enough, after about five periods, all the simulated variables were NaN.

So it looks like I have an explosive model, at least to second order. What confuses me a bit is that the Blanchard-Kahn condition was satisfied, and Dynare did find a unique solution for the policy and transition functions. I also get well-defined theoretical moments. I thought that if Blanchard-Kahn was satisfied, the resulting solution was theoretically non-explosive?