Impulse response - FTPL framework

Hi all,

I am an undergrad spending my summer learning how to solve rational expectations models and I am trying to learn how to use Dynare. I want to make some IRF’s based on Leeper (1991). The paper is basically about the interaction between monetary and fiscal policy. My only experience with Dynare is from reading Eric Sims’ lecture notes (https://www3.nd.edu/~esims1/using_dynare.pdf).

Somehow I managed to solve the model and obtain similar results to Leeper. However, my problem is that I don’t know what equations to include in the model block. I posted this question on EconomicsStackExchange. Here are the key parts:

(1) and (2) are the consumer’s FOC’s and the last 4 equations are the equilibrium solutions.

In Sims’ notes, he derives FOC’s from a basic RBC economy and writes them in the model block. While I only have inflation as a function of shocks. So I am very confused as to what should be included.

I haven’t learned how to solve ratex models in university yet so everything I know is from reading online notes. I do apologise if my questions are too naive.

That very much depends on the setup you want to consider, i.e. whether you want to work with the nonlinear version and let Dynare do the linearization or whether you want to work with the linear version. The latter seems to be easier. In that case, you need equations (3) and (4) (Euler equation and budget constraint) that determine inflation \pi_t and b_t given the two exogenous processes \theta_t and \psi_t and the two AR-processes for these exogenous processes. Basically, you need to implement the stacked system you provided above, but using Dynare’s stock at the end of period notation. Compared to equation (4), you shifted bonds by one period. Also note that the exogenous AR-processes are entered contemporaneously, not in expectations, i.e. use
\theta_t=\rho_1 \theta_{t-1}+\epsilon_{1t}