How to estimate DSGE when R is exogenous and observed?

Dear all,

I’m quite new to Dynare and want to ask a question.
I’d like to estimate the following 2 equation DSGE model.

var pi, y, RA, g, z, ra;
varexo eg, ez, ea, RA_obs;

model(linear);
    y       = y(+1) - (1/sigma)*(RA - pi(+1)) + g; 
    pi      = bet*pi(+1) + kappa*y + z;
    g       = rhog*g(-1) + eg;
    z       = rhog*z(-1) + ez;

// Measurement equation
    RA_obs	= RA + ra;
// Measurement error has AR(1) process
    ra      = rhoa*ra(-1) + ea;
end;

varobs y, pi, RA_obs;

I wrote this code since I assume that, in this economy, interest rates are given exogenously.(So it is kind of partial equilibrium model). However, the problem is that the Dynare doesn’t seem to allows exogenous varialbe (RA) as an observable. It give an error saying that,

[quote]varobs: RA_obs is not an endogenous variable
[/quote]

Could anyone help me to solve this problem?

Thank you.

Hello there.

I don’t know much myself but I’ll try to help. Firstly, you can only set endogenous variables as observables and in your case you have an exogenous variable along the varobs command, thus the error message. Don’t get carried away by the thought that interest rates are given exogenously. Interest rates are an endogenous variable of your model and are governed by an exogenous shock process.

Secondly, note that the varobs command is used when you have a data set linked to the variable you want to set as observed (i.e. a time series of interest rates or output in excel). This is done when you want to estimate the model’s parameters based on real data. You can have a look here dynare.org/manual/index_27.html.

Furthermore, your code seems to lack information about the parameters of the model, in your case kappa and sigma. You should specify those with the parameters command. Lastly, I cannot understand what you mean by the measurement equation RA_obs = RA + ra.

Dear Ned,

Thank you very much for your reply.