How does dynare compute theoretical moments?

Specially I’m interested in knowing how Dynare computes second-moments, i.e. standard deviations and covariance matrix, particularly derived from regular stoch_simul(). This has been asked before, as in here, but I do not understand where does this simulation come from? (I’m a beginner). Since I thought Dynare only simulated irfs to orthogonalized shocks.

In the other hand, as far as I can tell, if Dynare generates some time series simulation of the variables, then it computes theoretical second-moments from this filtered data, and Dynare offer the option of HP or band-pass type filter. Now, if my empirical moments (from data) are filtered using another method, in order for both to be comparable, I should use the same cycle-extraction method, then how do I get the non-filtered simulated time series calculated by Dynare from my theoretical model?

Also, does the approximation order of the solution affect the simulation that is computed by Dynare (and consequently the theoretical second moments)?

Thanks!

I am not sure I understand.

1. Once you have the model solution at the respective order, you can simulate artificial data. That is straightforward. As the model solution will depend on the approximation order, of course moments will depend on the order.
  2. The moments Dynare will display if you request simulated moments (periods>0), will be based on the filtering the simulated data if such a filter is requested. However, the actual simulated series in the workspace and in oo_.endo_simul will be unfiltered. Thus, you can apply any data treatment to these series you like.
1 Like

Then, I think my question now is more: how does Dynare generate the simulation? When having the solution, Dynare just sets initial conditions for all predetermined variables (particularly the steady state), and simulates the evolution of the economy for the number assigned to periods?