Grid search inside the model block

Hi,

I am coming from a Julia/Matlab background and I am new to Dynare, so I hope my question makes sense in this context.

I am considering a model in which wages (called phiZero(x) below) are implicitly defined by the relation
workersSurplus(x,phiZero(x))=0
where x is a variable indexing skills on a grid (with nX different values)

To find the corresponding wage phiZero(x), I have defined a fine grid for wages (wGrid in the code below, with nWages different values), and I was hoping to perform a naive grid search:

//Loop over skills
@#for iX in 1 : nX
        //For each skill level, look for the corresponding wage phiZero_@{iX}
		//Initial guess
		deltaPhiZeroGuess = 9999

//loop over possible wages
		//to find the index of the wage iW
		//such that workersSurplus_@{iX}_@{iW} = 0
		@#for iW in 1 : nWages
			//Compare values
			@# if abs(workersSurplus_@{iX}_@{iW}) < deltaPhiZeroGuess
				phiZero_@{iX} = wGrid_@{iW}; //Wage value
				phiZeroIndex_@{iX} = iW;//Index on the grid

//Update the guess
				deltaPhiZeroGuess = abs(workersSurplus_@{iX}_@{iW})

@# endif
		@#endfor
@#endfor

where workersSurplus_@{iX}_@{iW} are defined in another part of my code. Can Dynare accommodate such a setting? If not, is there any to calculate the wages which are implicitly defined in my model.

Any help or suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

Hi. from your description, it is not clear what you are trying to do. Are you trying to solve a stochastic model on a discretized state space? If yes, Dynare does not really handle this kind of setup. The focus is on perturbation solutions.

Hi,

Thank you for your answer.

I am considering using the method described in Winberry (2016) to solve a stochastic rational expectation model with heterogeneous agents in Dynare (http://faculty.chicagobooth.edu/thomas.winberry/research/winberryAlgorithm.pdf
http://faculty.chicagobooth.edu/thomas.winberry/research/winberryAlgorithmCodes.zip)