Forecasting with Vintage data

Hi there,

I am new in Dynare world and I have found it very interesting.

However I am trying to run a recursive forecasting exercise with vintage (real-time) data set, which means that my data set is diagonal. Let me be more specific, I have 10 observables. So the first 10 columns contain 110 obs, the next 10 columns contain 111 obs, the next 10 columns contain 112 obs etc, so every 10 columns correspond to different vintage date. So my task is to take the first 10 columns (with 110 obs) estimate it and generate forecasts for 1,2,3 and 4 periods ahead. Then take the next 10 columns (with 111 obs) do the same task, etc until data set exhausts (26*10 columns). So how can we do that in Dynare ?? I see that estimation command works for data sets not like mine.

The estimation command I use is: estimation(nograph, datafile = DSGE, xls_sheet=DSGE_vintage, xls_range=B4:JA138, prefilter = 1, mode_compute = 4, mh_nblocks = 0, mh_replic = 20000, mh_drop = 0.3, mh_jscale = 0.35, first_obs = ???, nobs = ???, forecast = 4);

Much appreciated

Any help here please??? Thank you very much !!

Unfortunately, there is no automated way of doing this with Dynare (yet). You would have to work with a sequence of estimation commands calling different datafiles for now.

Dear Professor, please allow me some questions.

1. If I forecast (horizon=4) only one variable with the estimation command (not recursively, but using the entire dataset and forecasting once), dynare returns me a 5x1 matrix (for both oo_.MeanForecast.Mean.d and oo_.PointForecast.Mean.d) , for which I have realized that the first row is the (last) observation at time t and forecasts for t+1, t+2, t+3 and t+4 follow in row 2, 3, 4, and 5 respectively. Is this matrix’s content and formulation correct ??