Forecast does not create output

Hey Guys,

I try to compare DSGE forecast peformance with VAR and this is my first time using Matlab/Dynare so the Question is hopefully a Basic one.

So I used the model creation of Johannes Pfeifer:
https://github.com/JohannesPfeifer/DSGE_mod/commit/fdf415d627f807c3b99121970397ffd62dc6dca7
Basicly I got rid of everything non Basic, so the plots as well as everything that splits the data in pre and post 1980.

Now I got two issues I can’t solve,

1. I added the forecast ; command, and it does plot forecasts, but no variable is saved in the Workspace where I could look at the values.

2. I get that warning message About the hessian and the initial values but they are set according to the paper, is that an actual issue and Maybe the reason for the NaN in the ML estimation?

I hope somebody is able to help. Anyway thanks in Advance!

Cheers,

Nikolas Messerschmidt

1. Do you mean there is no data in oo_.forecast?
  2. The reason for the warning is described in the notes to the mod-file

Some of the estimated parameters in Ireland are extremely close to the lower bound of 0. This creates problems in the computation of the Hessian at the mode as two-sided numerical derivatives cannot be computed. Ireland (2004) sidesteps this issue by using one-sided derivatives and an individually selected step size. Dynare does not (yet) offer this tailored approach as it is not generic.

The man himself, nice!

1. There just is no oo_.forecast that I could look at.

2. I see, sorry I overlooked that. Are the results still valid?

Ps: Really grateful for yout Github page, made getting into Matlab way more interesting as one can learn something about economics while doing so.

greetings,

Nick

1. That is strange. I would need to see the file.
  2. The point estimates are valid. You simply don’t get standard errors for inference.

ireland2.mod (3.1 KB)