Estimation problem onLog data density is Inf and modified harmonic mean estimator

Dear all,

I am new to estimation.

I’ve encountered the problem as the following:

The support of the weighting density function is not large enough…

Estimation::marginal density: I increase the variance of this distribution.

There’s probably a problem with the modified harmonic mean estimator.

And the result is shown below.

I don’t know what to look at, what the results mean, and how to adjust.

Could anyone help me with this?

I tried different mean and sd in the prior, all get the same problem.

hmdy521.mod (6.1 KB)
hm.mat (72.2 KB)
hm.m (2.0 KB)

hm.m is the file I generate the data.
hmdy521.mod is the estimation mod file.

Thanks a lot!

The f_qhncss is missing to run your file.

f_qhncss.m (1.2 KB)
sorry.

It seems your mode finding gets stuck as it cannot explain the data. Have you tried simulating data from your model and comparing it to the actual observables? It may be that there is a scaling issue.

Thanks a lot for the suggestion.

I just tried, the result is like the following. the red is my observable data, the blue is the simulated data.

Not sure it’s what you suggested, you can run the comparesvso.m file to generate the result.

comparesvso.m (593 Bytes)
hmdy521s.mod (6.3 KB)

comparesvso.m is the file compare the data.
hmdy521s.mod is the simulated mod file. it just deleted the estimation part compared to hmdy521.mod.

You can see an order of magnitude difference. It seems that you specify 1 percent as 1 in the data, but 0.01 in the model. That may explain part of the difference. In any case, for the given shock standard deviations, your model is unable to capture the data moments.

Oh, I see. Thanks!

I changed the stand error in the model to 1 to match the data. The comparison is now like the following:

I also tried correct this in the estimation file but the problem persists as in the following.

The updated file are the following:
comparesvso.m (593 Bytes)