Dynare timing and redefinition

Hi Prof, I am new to dynare and I have a puzzle on timing and redefining:

In usual stochastic growth model, suppose I have production function as y=z k^alpha, then in dynare timing it is y=z k(-1)^alpha.
define: m=z alpha k(-1)^(alpha-1), then I focus on m(+1).
Also define: n=z(+1) alpha k^(alpha-1).
My questions are :

1. Are m(+1) and n the same? conceptually and numerically?
  2. How do I interpret the above? Does m refers to realized value, and n refers to expected value? If NOT, how should I construct the expected & realized values in this case?

Many thanks.

Without knowing how m(+1) is used, it is impossible to tell. But yes, n is the expected value, while m is the realization. You may want to have a look at Expected value of a power

Hi Prof., Thanks for your reply!
I am using it in an Euler equation. The original formula is
1/c(t)=beta E_{t} [1/c(t+1) (alpha z(t+1) k(t+1)^ (alpha-1) +1 -delta].
If I put into dynare, i need to change k(t+1) to k(t).

So I wonder if I define m as: m= z alpha k(-1)^(alpha-1)
Then is it correct to write the above Euler equation as:
1/c=beta 1/c(+1) (m(+1)+1-delta) ?
Or should I ONLY define n as: n= z(+1) alpha k^(alpha-1)
and write 1/c=beta 1/c(+1) (n+1-delta)?

It seems that I check it computationally, the diff is around 10^-16. Both seem fine.

Thanks.

At first order, both are equivalent and you do not need to worry.At second order, your definition with n would theoretically be different, because it contains the conditional expectations.

Hi Prof. Thanks for your reply.
Sorry but I dont think i understand the 1st order 2nd order thing. I assume you are referring to order of perturbation. But for my understanding, whatever order I do( or if I do second order), in dynare, m refers to realized element, BUT m(+1) still contains an expectation? so still equivalent to n?

Or, i wonder whether you have any example for the 1st order and 2nd order you mentioned, for cases m(+1) and n are different?