Dynamic from one steady state to another

Hello everyone, I’m new to this forum and I just wanted to introduce myself. I’m completely new to Dynare and don’t have much experience with MATLAB either, so I apologize in advance if my questions seem basic or if I need some extra help understanding certain concepts. I appreciate any guidance or advice you can offer me as I work on my project.

I am currently working on a general equilibrium model with search frictions that includes two sectors and heterogeneous workers based on Iftikhara and Zaharieva (2019). Initially, I used vpasolve to evaluate the two steady states that occur as a result of a shock that permanently increases the labor force. However, I am now interested in understanding how the model’s dynamics develop from one steady state to another.

To accomplish this, I have formulated the equations in Dynare and I am also using an external MATLAB file to provide the steady state. However, I have some questions about how to add the necessary inputs to calculate the model’s dynamics using the deterministic simulation toolbox, specifically using the perfect_foresight_solver function (if you think it might be the best approach).

I am attaching the mod file, the external MATLAB file that computes the steady state, and the corresponding function.

Could you help me understand how to use these files to calculate the model’s dynamics?

example.mod (8.0 KB)
example_steadystate.m (1.5 KB)
solve_SS.m (2.5 KB)
stst_guess.mat (1.9 KB)

You should be able to either directly set the initial and terminal condition in oo_.endo_simul directly after calling perfect_foresight_setup or use the computed steady states to create an initval_file.

Thank you very much for your response.