Does SMM estimation works for log-linearized system?

Hi all, I am a beginner in both Dynare and SMM. Now I developed a NK model, and log-linearized it. I wonder is it possible to use Dynare to estimate some coefficients/parameters in such log-linearized system? Because given the samples of SMM I have seen, the are not log-linearized because the moments are usually not in log-linearized form (given the code i have seen). Thank you very much!

Yes, it will work. The reason people often don’t use linear models is because for those models, likelihood-based techniques are available. Those should be more efficient.

Thank you professor. Do you mean that usually techniques like maximum likelihood estimation are more commonly used in estimating coefficients/parameters of log-linearized model? Does Dynare include it?
In addition, of course, my log-linearized model is derived from a non-linear one.

Hi professor Pfeifer, in addition, does the Dynare allows us to set a bound for estimated parameters, meaning that the value of estimated parameters/coefficients must be fall within a specific interval? I have seen some SMM codes that incorporate this kind of restriction. Thank you agian!

1. Yes, Dynare supports ML and Bayesian estimation of linear models. It’s a lot more commonly used.
  2. Yes, the `estim_param -block allows specifying lower and upper bounds. See the manual.

Thank you for your answer! I still have two more question about dynare (maybe stupid)

1. Is it possible to set restrition on variables? Like I want to restrict interest rate R>=1 when doing the estimation in dynare?
  2. Where can I get the manual? I do not know about it.
    Thank you!
  1. That is not easily possible, unless you use OccBin with a filter.
  2. The manual is shipped in every Dynare installation folder under doc

Thank you very much Prof. Pfeifer.