Difference between high order approx in Dynare and Dynare++

Hello,

I am new to dynare++ and am trying to figure out what the difference between
stoch_simu(order = x) in dynare and order = x in dynare++, when x>1.

Specifically, I calculated the IRF for the first example in https://www.dynare.org/assets/dynare++/dynare++-tutorial.pdf

using dynare and dynare++.

It seems that the difference between dynare and dynare++ is larger than standard numerical errors, even when we only look at first-order or second-order approximation (the codes are attached). Why do they differ at a lower order?
example++order1.mod (1.0 KB) exampledynare.mod (845 Bytes)

Also, what is unique in dynare++ with order = x that stoch_simu(order=x) can not achieve?

Thank you for your help in advance!

Hi,

By default Dynare++ represents the decision rule under a slightly different form (the so-called “centralized” form, see Dynare++ tutorial section 4.1), which results in small numerical discrepancies. If you want to get exactly the same results as Dynare, add the --no-centralize option to Dynare++.

Otherwise the two software use the same codebase and do the same thing. Currently, Dynare++ has only two features that Dynare does not have: the centralization mentioned above, and more significantly the ability to compute the approximation around the so-called “stochastic fix point” (see section 4.2 of the Dynare++ tutorial).

We plan to retire Dynare++ at some point in the future, once we have satisfactorily implemented the stochastic fix point feature in Dynare. So we discourage the use of Dynare++ for new work, unless you really need the features that are not present in plain Dynare.

I forgot to mention that Dynare++ has another feature not present in Dynare: the ability to compute approximation errors (also called Euler errors) of the approximated decision rule (see section 4.4 of the Dynare++ tutorial).

Thank you for your detailed response.

I just tried the