Deterministic Curdia&Woodford

Hey all,

I am new to Dynare and trying to replicate Curdia&Woodford “Credit Frictions and Optimal Monetary Policy”.
The equations are taken from columbia.edu/~mw2230/credit_Appendix.pdf.
I am modelling it in a deterministic way to later-on deal with OBCs.

How can I get this running ? (at least up to a point where it ll tell me that steady; couldnt find a SS, I m currently reading on how to use fsolve in matlab meanwhile :stuck_out_tongue: )

Appreciate any comments on current structure etc. !

I would really appreciate any help on this.
Right now it gives me:

althought I dont see any “;” missing, thus I guess it is a structural error !?

Check the brackets in those equations. You have opening brackets that do not close.

thx for the reply! I m embarrassed :wink:

Current error is

line 64, col 1: syntax error, unexpected INT_NUMBER

updated file attached.

The steady_state_model-block must define the steady state explicitly, not implicitly. See the examples in Pfeifer (2013): “A Guide to Specifying Observation Equations for the Estimation of DSGE Models”

[quote=“jpfeifer”]The steady_state_model-block must define the steady state explicitly, not implicitly. See the examples in Pfeifer(2013): “A Guide to Specifying Observation Equations for the Estimation of DSGE Models” .

Thats what I had guessed and why I opend the topic regarding the steady state model block, thanks a lot!

Crossread your paper, thanks again!, find it really well-written by the way.

unfortunately right now no time to solve the system of SS equations by hand towards an explicit form thus I thought I would try running the .mod file without the steady-state-model block (at least up to a point where Dynare tells me that it can not find the SS since I m workin on non-linear level equations without any initvals) but I get this error:

File: **needhelp3.m** Line: 283 Column: 18
The expression to the left of the equals sign is not a valid target for an assignment.