Data handling

Dear Professor Pfeifer,

I am new in DSGE models and Dynare. I am trying to estimate a DSGE model and I need to make sure that I am transforming my data correctly. I have read your paper (very useful !!) but I would like to share my doubts. The (quarterly) observed data I use is: Output growth, Labour productivity growth, GDP deflator Inflation, CPI Inflation, Wage Inflation, Nominal interest rate, and Nominal currency depreciation. Time-series are seasonally adjusted. Also I am entering my model in log-linear form – model (linear).

All growth rates (and inflation rates) (for consistency purposes with respect to the model) are quarterly non-annualised, and computed as the first difference of their respective values, i.e. output growth = output(t) - output(t-1) and Inflation rates = Price(t) – Price(t-1). I have matched these computations with my model using the above observation equations. I also assume zero inflation, growth and depreciation at the steady state. So please lets talk about detrending and demeaning issues.

1. Output growth: I take the logs of real GDP, then I take the first difference. As far as I know, taking first difference detrends the data, right ?? So there is no need to apply the one-side HP filter as well, right?? Also since I assume zero growth at steady state , I have to demean the growth rate, right ??

2. Inflation: I take the first difference of the logs of the prices. Again I just only need to demean the Inflation series, right ???

Using the Uncovered Interest Parity in the obs equations I relate the interest rates with the currency depreciation.

1. Interest rates: ir_obs = log(1+ir_data/400) – the mean log(1+ir_data/400) ]

2. Nominal currency depreciation: log(s)-log(s-1) and then only demean it.

Could you please correct me Professor ??
Much appreciated.

1. Yes, you must not HP-filter the growth rates
  2. Yes, you need to demean the quarterly price growth if you assume a 0 inflation steady state.