Construct IRF for one firm from the continuumg

Dear All,

I was wondering if it is possible using dynare to construct an IRF for one firm from the continuum? Suppose we have a model with Calvo frictions, where all firms are subject to idiosyncratic price rigidities. While we tend to aggregate the model, then find a solution and construct IRFs, is it possible to see how one firm behaves (its profit or labor decision) when assuming its future history of idiosyncratic shocks (t=0 cannot change prices, t=1 can change price, t=2 cannot)?

Could you refer where I can read more about this?
Thanks a lot

Hi burgerino,

what is done in representative agent NK-DSGE models is to, in the end, always think about representative agents and not a continuum of them, be it households or firms. Hence, for the “normal” model set-up this is not possible.
You could have a look into the heterogeneous firm literature maybe this would work better for your use-case. I am not an expert in this field and cannot really help you there but what I know is that solving these kinds of models is much more involved and not done in Dynare.

Thanks for the answer. I understand that I rely on a “representative” case, as Calvo allows for an easy aggregation, as well as I understand that models with proper heterogeneous firms is beyond dynare. However, I am still unsure if what I am asking cannot be answered using dynare in a simple setting.