Calibration procedure

Good afternoon everyone,

I would like to know what is the mainstream way to calibrate the factor share and substitution elasticities in a “growth dynamic general equilibrium model” (deterministic). I have two options:

1. Calibrate my factor shares (and other parameters, and steady state values for endogenous variables) on long-run averages from 1978 to 2017 and estimate my elasticities of substitution on 1978-2017 time series.

2. Calibrate my factor shares on the year 2017, which has a (nearly) zero output gap, so we can define it as the steady state of the economy to reproduce, and my elasticities on 1978-2017 time series. I personally prefer that one because it allows me to have “actual” steady state values for endogenous variables and parameters reflecting the current state of the economy I’m studying. The first option would underestimate or overestimate some steady state values as it takes long-run averages from 1978 to 2017.

Thanks in advance.

Best

The answer depends on your prior about what happened in the data. Usually, we think that the long-run average is a good estimator of the mean, i.e. steady state in your model. If you think that this is not the case, e.g. due to a trend in the data that makes the mean an inappropriate estimator, then you should use more recent data.

1 Like

Thank you for the answer.

Yes I have a trend in my capital, debt, energy consumption and GDP data… So on your advice, I’ll take the year 2017 as the steady state of my model.

Thanks!

It’s not about trends per se. In a Cobb-Douglas function, the share parameters refer to a ratio of trending variables. You only have a problem if that ratio has a trend.