BK not satisfied Open Economy DSGE

Hi all:

I am a graduate student working on my second year paper. I made an open economy DSGE model to look at the spillover of unconventional monetary policy of centre country. The model is merge of Banerjee, Devereux and Lombardo(2016) and Sims and Wu(2020). When i run my code, it reported that:

Error using print_info (line 32)
Blanchard & Kahn conditions are not satisfied: indeterminacy.

Error in stoch_simul (line 103)
print_info(info, options_.noprint, options_);

Error in tomeme2.driver (line 1171)
[info, oo_, options_, M_] = stoch_simul(M_, options_, oo_, var_list_);

Error in dynare (line 293)
evalin(ā€˜baseā€™,[fname ā€˜.driverā€™]) ;

Error in ss_tomeme (line 125)
dynare tomeme2

Any one can point it out why BK conditions are not satisfied. I checked it several times but i canā€™t find more mistakes. Also, is it possible to know that the BK condition is not satisfied is because jump variables are too much or not enough?

tomeme.rar (6.0 KB)

1 Like

I would recommend having a look at Timing of capital in two sector economy
Maybe the same problem applies to bonds in your economy.

Hi professor Pfeifer:

Thanks for your reply! Your response is always one of the most valuable source for me to learn dynare.

Today i tried to think about how to fix the problem but still didnā€™t figure it out. I didnā€™t aggregate capital like two sector economy did. Also bonds in two countries are independent and not aggregated. The only link between capital of two countries is one country can borrow from the other one and buy bond to finance its own production. So is it possible to tell more details about how this indeterminancy problem came from?

Before this step, i built a simpler one. Thereā€™s no capital flow but only trade goods between the two countries, and it works well. When i added the capital flow, the indeterminancy problem came out.

Thanks again for your help!

Rahul