Baysian esimation - Basic questions

Hello everyone,

I am very new into Bayesian estimation of DSGEs, I have never done it before even though I understand the concept well. However, I have two (rather) basic questions

1. I know that posterior = likelihood * prior (up to a constant) I understand what the prior is, and I understand the resulting posterior. I have some trouble understanding over which data the likelihood function (LF) is computed. I know it is L(y/theta) where y is the data and theta is a vector of parametres. The data y is what exactly? Artificial, model-generated data from the state-space representation of the model for a given theta? Or actual data (then why given theta?) Or some combination of the two, such that the LF is a kind of a minimum-distance estimator. I am getting confused there…

2. Second is about identification, but this is more conceptual. Sometimes I read in papers that the number of shocks should not exceed the data series used in the estimation. Or that a given shock is not identified. How do we know that exactly?

Thanks a lot!

K.

1. The data is empirically observed data. The likelihood is the likelihood of observing the actual data realizations given the current model (this is an implicit conditioning you are missing) and the current parameter vector. If you forget about Bayesian estimation for a second, the goal of maximum likelihood estimation would be to find the values for the parameters of the model that make observing the empirical data the most likely. Consider an AR1-process

where epsilon is standard normal. The goal is to find rho and sigma_eps. Given any draw for theta=[rho;sigma_eps] the likelihood of observing x can be evaluated as

To evaluate that function, you need the parameter vector theta.