Asymmetric responses in a perfect foresight model

I am studying the effect of shocks to the inflation rate target on the economy (output, inflation, and interest rate) in a perfect foresight model. The impulse responses from the old steady state to the new steady state are asymmetric. Thus, raising or reducing the inflation rate target by 1% does not have a symmetric effect on the endogenous variables. Below, I show an example for output.

output_new_new2

The asymmetricity here seems to be model-dependent because if I change some parameters, for example, the nature of the asymmetricity changes. Is there a known literature or paper on the asymmetry of shocks to the inflation target in DSGE models…to guide me on why it is occurring in my model and its economic significance? I have searched google, but nothing yet so far. I will keep searching but maybe someone knows something about this…Thanks!!

All our models are generally asymmetric if they are nonlinear. In stochastic models, people often work with linearized models. Here, the effect is less obvious. Without knowing more about the model, it’s impossible to tell what the sources of nonlinearity are in your model.

Hi Prof. Pfeifer, may I ask a related question? I have read a couple of papers on disinflationary shocks in an SVAR model, and the authors often identify disinflationary shocks using the following conditions:

1. A disinflationary shock has a permanent effect on the inflation rate and nominal interest rate, and other nominal variables in the long run.
  2. A disinflationary shock has no effect on real output (and real variables in general) in the long run.

And then, they impose some long-run restrictions on the SVAR model to get the above conditions to be satisfied.