An infinity of steady states with Taylor rules

Hi, I am new to Dynare. I have a problem in getting the steady state with a monetary policy of Taylor rule.

When I set the monetary policy in constant money supply, I got a steady state solution. However, it said “Impossible to find the steady state” when I changed to a Taylor rule. My understanding is when switch the monetary policies, Taylor rule in the steady state is the same as Euler equation is the steady state. Compared to the constant money supply, does it mean there is one less steady state condition? Since less conditions than unknowns, the stead state is indeterminate. Or the nominal price can be inflated to any arbitrage level.

Did I understand correctly?
What are the ways to resolve the problem, beside use logarithm to get the deviation?
Cheers!

As always, post the mod-file.

Hi jpfeifer,

I have attached the mod file. When I set the monetary policy as a Taylor rule, there is a problem in finding the steady state. When I use a constant money supply, it works. So I was wondering if it is because the taylor rule at the steady state is equivalent to euler equation. Anyway, what is the problem on earth? How to deal with it? Thanks!

Could it be that you are trying to use the steady state operator to compute something that cannot be set endogenously?
Take inflation: every percentage point higher steady state inflation will increase the steady state nominal interest accordingly. But any consistent combination of both (via the link the Fisher equation provides) is feasible. You need to pin down one of them by setting the value. The model cannot do this for you.

Thank you, jpfeifer! At the steady state, there is no inflation. But I see you point, the stock level of money supply, as well as the price level can be any arbitrage number. That’s probably why Dynare returns ‘’ an Infinite of steady state", whereas constant money supply monetary policy explicitly fixes those levels.