Alternative to modecompute=6?

Dear all,

I am actually estimating a simple model (like SW2003 and SW2007 but with import sector) but unless using “modecompute=6”, I always get the following error message:

[quote]??? Error using ==> chol
Matrix must be positive definite.[/quote]

The problem is that with modecompute=6, parameters seem to badly converge (I am refering to “mdiag” plot).

I see in some post that it might come from initial value or observation equation specification. However, I use estimated value of SW2007 as starting value and I carefully follow advices given in J. Pfeifer manual for setting obervation equation.

I am pretty new in using dynare so any help would be gratefully appreciated.

Best regards,

Any help please,

does it have anything to do with initial value or equation or anything else?

thanks for any help,

Best regards,

It is hard to tell. What often works best is a sequence of different mode_compute. For example, run mode_compute=4 first and then use the generated mode_file as the starting value for running mode_compute=6,8, or 9.
But before doing this, try to check whether something else is wrong. For example, check the parameters at the detected mode whether they hit a bound and test whether they are identified at all.

Thanks a lot Pfeifer,

Running mode-compute=4 first generates error message. Even if I run first mode-compute=6 before running mode-compute=4, 8 or 10, I still get the same error message. I have used the identification command and all parameters are identified both for H and J (even using Monte-Carlo as option).

However, parameters may hit a bound but I don’t exactly how I will recognize it. Is it for example the case for the variables SE_E_R and SE_E_PIBAR (which are respectively the interest rate and inflation objective shocks). If it is the case, should I decrease the mean of the prior?

Thanks in advance,
PriorPosterior.pdf (45.8 KB)